This is a Past Event and has been archived.

Click Here for Current Events in this Area.

WNO Orchestra - International Concert Series

Dvorák Othello overture / Prokofiev Violin Concerto No 2 Op 63 / Tchaikovsky Symphony No 4 Op 36

For our final performance at the 2019-2020 International Concert Series, Tomáš Hanus is joined by the Leader of WNO’s Orchestra, David Adams, in a programme that bursts into life with a dramatic overture, continues with a lyrical violin concerto and ends with a contrasting, memorable symphony.Shakespeare’s tragic tale of love, jealousy and betrayal are vividly realised in Dvorák’s Othello overture; Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto, more conventional than his earlier works, brings soaring lyricism and ear catching instrumental colours, with the melody flowing gracefully though the three movements; By contrast, Tchaikovsky’s 4th Symphony bursts into life with its memorable opening and will delight with its memorable tunes and imaginative scoring right the way through to its triumphant end.

Tickets: £29 - £43
St David’s Hall, The Hayes, Cardiff CF10 1AH
Sun 26 Apr 2020
Contact telephone: 029 2087 8444 Call to check latest times or cancellations.
Share this page
Back to List