WhereCanWeGo Logo


Music For Passiontide

For its Spring Concert 2024, the Yorkshire Philharmonic Choir (YPC) presents appropriate music for this pre-Easter period, and what could be deemed music ‘Old and New’.

Fulfilling the ‘Old’ category is Mozart’s ‘Solemn Vespers’. A work written in 1780 for liturgical use in Salzburg Cathedral. It has 6 movements based on various Psalms. Some in Mozart’s exuberant style, one in the a Capella counterpoint style of the time followed by the calm beauty of the 5th movement ‘Laudate Dominum’ featuring the soprano soloist.
Written for use in a Cathedral, and here performed tonight in the stunning re-ordered surroundings of Wakefield Cathedral, it will be simply a delight to experience.
The ‘ New’ is represented by Paul Carr’s ‘ Seven last words from the Cross’. A new 40 minute work in seven sections for mixed voice choir with baritone solo and orchestra accompaniment. Settings of the Seven Last Words from the Cross but also utilising other texts from, amongst others, the Good Friday Antiphon and Reproaches and including in No.3 With Me in Paradise, a stunningly beautiful setting of Phineas Fletcher's Drop, drop, slow tears.
These two works will show the superb versatily of the YPC, guest soloists and the Amici orchestra.
An evening of excellent but thoughtful music which will also bring the freshness and hope of
Spring to performers and listeners alike.
7.00 pm, Saturday 16th March 2024
Tickets £19 (£17 seniors, £5 students & under 16) plus booking charge
Wakefield Cathedral, Northgate, Wakefield, West Yorkshire WF1 1HG
Sat 16 March