WhereCanWeGo Logo

Back

Handa’s Surprise

Handa’s Surprise

Wednesday 22 May – Sunday 23 June

Recommended for ages 2-5



Travel to Kenya and follow in Handa’s footsteps as she journeys to see her best friend Akeyo, in the next village. Handa is taking seven delicious fruits as a surprise – but seven different animals have seven very different ideas… could you resist the sweet-smelling guava? How about a ripe red mango or a tangy purple passion fruit?

A blend of physical performance, puppetry, live music and song combine to create an intimate, magical production with audience participation. Come and share in the magical tangerine surprise!

Handa’s Surprise is aimed at ages  2 - 5. The small audience sit on cushions and mats around the stage for an intimate experience, and there is a chance to join in the dancing at the end.

This play is based on the original book Handa’s Surprise, written and illustrated by Eileen Browne. Published by Walker Books Ltd.



Approximately 35 minutes



Access Performances

BSL interpreted: Sunday 9 June 2pm

Relaxed: Sunday 16 June 10am



Tickets from £15*

(Group and multi-buy offers available)

*£2.50 transaction fee applies to phone and online bookings. T&Cs apply.
Varied times
Polka Theatre, 240 The Broadway, Wimbledon, London SW19 1SB
Today, Wed 19 Jun to Sun 23 Jun
Contact telephone: 020 8543 4888 Call to check latest times or cancellations.
More about Polka Theatre

Similar Current Events

Sam Wu is NOT Afraid of Ghosts
Polka Theatre, 240 The Broadway, Wimbledon Sat 22 Jun to Sun 18 August
How to Catch a Star
Polka Theatre, 240 The Broadway, Wimbledon Wed 3 Jul to Sun 11 August
Rise and Fall
Polka Theatre, 240 The Broadway, Wimbledon Wed 14 Aug to Sun 25 August
Big Dreams Early Years Festival
Polka Theatre, 240 The Broadway, Wimbledon, London Sat 28 Sep 2024 and Sun 29 Sep 2024
Macbeth
Polka Theatre, 240 The Broadway, Wimbledon, London Sat 5 Oct 2024 and Sun 6 Oct 2024
Luna Loves Library Day
Polka Theatre, 240 The Broadway, Wimbledon, London Sat 12 Oct to Sun 20 Oct 2024
Súper Chefs
Polka Theatre, 240 The Broadway, Wimbledon, London Sat 12 Oct 2024 and Sun 13 Oct 2024
Soft or Spiky?
Polka Theatre, 240 The Broadway, Wimbledon, London Sat 19 Oct to Sun 24 Nov 2024
The Storm Whale
Polka Theatre, 240 The Broadway, Wimbledon, London Fri 25 Oct to Sun 3 Nov 2024
Everything Has Changed
Polka Theatre, 240 The Broadway, Wimbledon, London Wed 30 Oct to Sun 3 Nov 2024
The Nutcracker
Polka Theatre, 240 The Broadway, Wimbledon Sat 16 Nov 2024 to Sun 12 Jan 2025