WhereCanWeGo Logo

Back

A World of Care: Turner and the Environment

This summer, Turner’s House, thanks to a generous loan of works from Tate, asserts J.M.W. Turner was the first major British artist to engage with man’s effect on the natural world. The exhibition reveals how Turner grappled with the effects of the industrial revolution on the landscape, and captured environmental and social developments that would go on to change Britain and the world‘s climates forever.

A World of Care presents a selection of J.M.W. Turner’s paintings, drawings and prints in relation to a series of environmental issues. It shows how 200 years ago Turner bore witness to the beginnings of societal and industrial developments that would lead to today’s ecological concerns. The exhibition, featuring the rarely seen oil painting Sunset, c.1830-35, the original drawing of London from Greenwich 1808-09 and Fire at the Grand Storehouse of the Tower of London, 1841, demonstrates Turner’s keen attention to society’s impact on the natural world and the huge effect environmental change had on his subject matter.

Turner’s House is an ideal venue for this exhibition. Turner’s engagement with the environment is framed in relation to his life at Sandycombe Lodge, the rural retreat he designed for himself in Twickenham, upriver from the filthier stretches of the Thames and upwind of London’s smoky air.
Wednesday to Sunday – 12pm – 4pm (Guided tours at 12:30pm, 1:30pm, and 2:30pm – ONLY when a guide is available) – Pre-booking is recommended, but walk-ins are welcome.
Turner’s House Surrey TW1 2LR
Sat 20 Jul, Sun 21 Jul, Sat 27 Jul, Sun 28 Jul, Thu 1 Aug to Sun 4 Aug, Wed 7 Aug to Sun 11 Aug, Wed 14 Aug to Sun 18 Aug, Wed 21 Aug to Sun 25 Aug, Wed 28 Aug to Sun 1 Sep
Contact telephone: 020 8892 5485 Call to check latest times or cancellations.