WhereCanWeGo Logo

Back

The Chapel of the Three Kings at Fosters Almshouses

Heritage Open Day: The Almshouses and Chapel are grade II* listed buildings on Colston Street. They were founded by John Foster, a wealthy 15th-century merchant, to provide accommodation for Bristol's poor and elderly. The Chapel of the Three Kings is the only church in the UK dedicated to the Magi – the Three Wise Men who came from the east with gifts of gold, frankincense, and myrrh for baby Jesus.

This tiny church hides in plain sight on Colston Street in the centre of Bristol. It was originally built in the 1480s to serve the residents at the attached Foster’s Almshouses, which provided housing for Bristol’s elderly poor for over 500 years.
event dateSaturday 13 September
venue addressFoster’s Almshouses, Colston Street, Bristol BS1 5AY
event timesSat 13 Sep:1000 - 1500; Free Entry.
Spread the word

Similar Current Events

John Wesley’s New Room: Discover Gorgeous Architecture
Saturday 13 September 36 The Horsefair, Bristol
Electric Dreams - Walking Tour
Saturday 13 September M Shed, Princes Wharf, Bristol
Electric Wonderland? Women and the 1930s Modern Home by Sarah Yates
Saturday 13 September M Shed, Princes Wharf, Bristol