Heritage Open Day: In The Storey building a stained glass window provides light, enhances the architecture and has an educational function. Admire the historic portico gate entrance opposite Lancaster Castle, the Georgian wall and huge copper beech tree in the garden. The Storey (formerly The Storey Institute) and gardens are situated below Lancaster Castle. The building was designed by the architects Paley and Austin from offices at 24 Castle Park and built 1887 to 1891. The stained glass window on the first floor was created by Shrigley & Hunt. The medallions at the top of the window depict figures of Art, Sculpture, Architecture, Music, Literature and Science, representing the purpose of the Storey Institute.