Heritage Open Day: An opportunity to see inside an historic but sometimes overlooked gem, an 18th century Unitarian meeting house, where William Hazlitt's father was minister. This Grade II Listed Building first opened in 1736 as a meeting house for dissenting Presbyterians who had split from the established church in 1662. The Rev. William Hazlitt, father of William Hazlitt the essayist and critic, was minister between 1770 and 1780. The building is described by John Newman in the West Kent and the Weald volume of The Buildings of England as “perfectly preserved, small and square, of dark red brick, with a pyramidal slate roofâ€. The interior is light and airy, with some striking features.