Heritage Open Day: Reading Minster of St Mary the Virgin blends Norman foundations, Gothic features, and Victorian restorations, reflecting over 900 years of architectural history. It stands as a testament to the town’s rich ecclesiastical and cultural heritage. Reading Minster had a strong link with Reading Abbey and following the reformation, was extensively restored using stones and timber from the ruins of the dissolved Abbey. The Minster continued to develop, and additional items were added to it, including an octagonal font in 1616, and in 1935 the high altar and reredos showing a representation of the Crucifixion surrounded by angels bearing the instruments of the Passion.
The present bells consist of three dated 1640, two dated 1740 and two dated 1743.