Heritage Open Day: A fascinating display celebrating the 150th anniversary of the Lindley Library building. A Mechanics Institute first opened in Lindley in September 1847 but soon proved to be too small. In 1849 Joseph Sykes and other Lindley residents bought a nearby plot of land and the foundation stone for the new building was laid in February 1849, with the new building opening in December 1849. The building has seen various other uses since its opening, including use as the polling station in the first election in which votes were recorded by ballot, in 1872. It was taken over by Huddersfield Corporation in October 1937 and opened as a branch library in March 1938. Come to Lindley Library and take a look at our fascinating display, which tells the story of the library building we know and love today.