Heritage Open Day: Guide tours Of Ipswich Town Hall Mayors Parlour and Cornexchange, by the Ipswich Town Sergeant. The Present Town Hall stands on the site of St Mildred’s Chapel mentioned in the Doomsday Book. The Chapel was dedication to a saint connected to the Saxon royal family of East Anglia.
By the 1300 hundreds the parish and chapel had ceased to function and following a Royal Charter from King John in 1200 it is then believed to have been occupied by the governing body of the Town.
The Town Hall remained the same for hundreds of years, being remodelled in 1818, then demolished and rebuilt in 1866, on an enlarged site. The new building included a police and fire station, session court, library and council chamber with office space for the running of the Town.