Heritage Open Day: The chapel was part of the old parish church of Cheam & contains over 50 memorials to former parishioners, including the splendid monuments to John Lord Lumley and his family, created at the end of the 16th century. A CCT volunteer will be present. The former chancel to the medieval Parish Church of St Dunstan's Cheam, the chapel was requisitioned by John Lumley, Lord Lumley (died 1609), who lived nearby at Nonsuch Palace as a burial place for himself and his children at the end of the 16th century. The building may date to the pre-conquest period, as evidenced by blocked half-round headed windows in the north wall, but was re-roofed in the 14th century.