Heritage Open Day: The building was erected by Augustine Steward who made it his home around 1545, since then it has hosted many distinguished visitors, including Queen Elizabeth 1 who visited the premises in 1578 and observed a pageant from a first floor window. Paston House is located in Elm Hill, Norwich - one of the oldest thoroughfares in Norfolk, through which waterborne goods were delivered and dispatched from the nearby Quayside. Amongst the earliest known occupiers of the building were John and Margaret Paston (authors of the Paston Letters), who contributed greatly to the development of the city, at a time when there was an influx of foreign merchants and tradesmen settling in Norwich.