Heritage Open Day: A very distinctive church built by William 8th Duke of Bedford to accommodate the miners who settled in Tavistock when working in the Devon Great Consoles mines. These mines were located on the west side of the town. The building was designed by Henry Clutton, a renowned architect and paid for by the Duke of Bedford in 1865. It is in an Italianate manner with a tall almost-detached tower on the north side, under which is the principal entrance.
There is also a second more ornate entrance on the south side which was for the use of the Dukes of Bedford. The detailing of the church is a mixture of Romanesque arcading and Gothic capitals.
The church is built of the local Hurdwick ashlar and consists of a Nave with a lower Chancel, Clerestory and Tower.