WhereCanWeGo Logo

Back

Petworth Cottage Museum

Heritage Open Day: The museum, a.k.a. Mrs. Cummings's Cottage, is an Estate worker's house restored, furnished and equipped as if it were 1910. Mrs. Cummings was a seamstress who worked at Petworth House and at home. Nostalgic and educational. The museum first opened in 1996 and was invented by Mrs. Ann Bradley, who wanted to show a typical Leconfield Estate worker's cottage in contrast to life at Petworth House. 1910 was a time when the Estate had its most ever cottages and its most ever workers. From 1901 to 1930 the tenant was Mrs. Mary Cummings who was not a typical Estate worker. No direct descendants of Mary were alive when the museum began, but Agnes Phelan, a very close friend of Mary's granddaughters, was found and came to see the museum in 1997.
event dateSaturday 20 September and Sunday 21 September
venue address346 High Street, Petworth, West Sussex GU28 0AU
event timesSat 20 Sep:1100 - 1630; Sun 21 Sep:1100 - 1630; Free Entry.
Spread the word

Similar Current Events

Petworth House and Park
Saturday 20 September and Sunday 21 September Petworth House and Park, Park Road, Petworth
Coultershaw Heritage Site
Saturday 20 September and Sunday 21 September The Coultershaw Heritage Site, Station Road, Petworth
Burton Mill
Saturday 20 September and Sunday 21 September Burton Mill, Burton Park Road, Petworth