Heritage Open Day: Rooms which are not normally open to clients with interesting beam construction, Diamond chimneys, carriage mounting block and Victorian staircase. Discover this 16th-century house, used as an Inn, a doctor's residence and a surgery. Once owned by a Reading Mayor, Mr John Deane, who promoted the bill to lay the paving slabs in Reading - the first one was laid outside this building on 8th August 1785 (we doubt it is still there now!!). The building has been used as a Solicitor's Practice since 1971. Original items retained - diamond chimneys, coach and horse mounting block, shoe carving on the beam timbers. Access to areas not normally open to the public during the working day.