Heritage Open Day: 15th century building - look for the line of the old quay. Thoresby College was built just after 1500 by Thomas Thoresby, wealthy merchant and former mayor. Originally called ‘Trinity College’, it housed a community of 13 or so chantry priests appointed by the town’s Trinity Guild. In 1547 it was sold into private hands. Despite many uses over the ensuing centuries, the footprint of the medieval building remains unchanged with many original features surviving, including the fine roof of the Great Hall and the grand oak door with Thoresby’s name carved into it. The building was saved and restored by the King’s Lynn Preservation Trust 1963–8.
A short film celebrating the work of the Preservation Trust will be shown throughout the day.
Note the line of the 13th Century medieval quay is now very landlocked.
Sale of historic books and maps of King’s Lynn.