Heritage Open Day: A Grand Design. This large Grade II Listed house was built around 1670, using stone from an earlier building on the site and there is some speculation that some of the brickwork may also belong to an earlier phase of the building. The house was subdivided in the 19th and 20th centuries, at which time it acquired its current name and is now offices. The site formerly backed onto the banks of the river and could have been the mediaeval Bishop’s House.
In reality this is Numbers 14–18 St Ann’s Street, dating from the seventeenth century but dressed up in a late eighteenth-century skin. The building has nine bays including the central porch bay with a Venetian window over a Doric door case. Sensitively renovated; now rented out as offices.