Heritage Open Day: Built originally as a Congregational Chapel in the mid-19th century, the building was refurbished in 2002 as a theatre. The backstage area and auditorium are open to visitors. The chapel was built in 1844 by William Ford Poulton (1820-1900) an architect based in Reading who is known to have built at least two other Congregational chapels in England. A schoolroom was later added in 1903 by the architectural firm of Baker and May who designed a number of buildings in Colchester in the early 20th century.
The building operated as a forces canteen during the Second World War and offered comfort to prisoners of war during that time. It has also been home to the Labour Club as well as a ladies' health club; a jacuzzi is still in place, hidden at the rear of the stage area.