Heritage Open Day: George Knowles was the architect in 1824. St John's was expanded 30 years later. In 2013, the Vision Project revamped the church. A major development of the bell tower is planned. See what's been achieved. Stroll through the award-winning graveyard. In 1825, the new church of St John the Divine was dedicated. Visitors will find information about George Knowles, the original architect, and Elizabeth Lawrence, who largely funded the building of the church and donated the land. Learn about the amazing windows; see how the church has been adapted for modern times; discover what is planned for the Sharow Bells Restoration; stroll through the tranquil churchyard managed for wildlife conservation; drink tea and eat cake!