Heritage Open Day: St Teresa of Avila Parish, Newtown, St Helens is celebrating its Centenary in 2025.
The church which opened in 1965, has displays on its architectural and design features, our parish history and our parish today. The parish was founded in 1925, but the name St Teresa of Avila was first used in 1898 when the school was opened. From 1898 to 1925 the people of this area were parishioners of the mother church of Sacred Heart. The first temporary church was built and opened in 1927, by the first parish priest Fr Henry Fitzgerald, but it was never consecrated. A second church was planned by parish priest Fr Francis Morrissey and opened in July 1965.