Heritage Open Day: Priory Row Cottages will be open to visitors from 1pm - 4pm on Sunday 21 September The Lychgate Cottages at 3-6 Priory Row is a row of timber-framed properties dating to around 1415. It is a remarkable survival of a pre-Dissolution building at the heart of Coventry’s city centre.
The building’s location and date indicate that it originally formed part of the precinct of the 12th century St Mary’s Priory, and it is the only upstanding building which survives from the priory complex. Its close-studded timbers and jettied floor make it an evocative example of a timber-framed building of the early 15th century. The principal timbers throughout show little evidence of re-use and demonstrate that the original structure survives well.