Heritage Open Day: St Andrews Church has some unique features dating back to Anglo-Saxon origins. It is situated in an ancient village which has a diverse history starting with a reference by the Venerable Bede. An ancient church with Anglo-Saxon origins. Built 1155 in a picturesque location and featuring an external sundial and Anglo Saxon gravestone cover built into the south-facing wall. The nave has an unusual sundial made up of Roman Numerals. There are two effigies, one showing Sir William Bowes and the other his wife Lady Maud of Dalton. This family has connections with the Bowes Lyon family at Streatlam, near Barnard Castle and the late Queen Mother. On the north wall is a doorway with typical Norman arched stonework.