The Alex Hutton Quartet – Featuring Josh Kemp (sax)

Magna Carta Suite Alex Hutton (piano) Josh Kemp (tenor/soprano sax, bass clarinet) Mikele Montolli (bass) Andy Ball (drums) The Magna Carta Suite was composed by Hutton in 2015 to commemorate the 800 year anniversary of the signing of the Magna Carta. It offers a musical journey of ideas exploring the layers of history and landscapes from 1215 to 2015. The suite highlights the influence of Magna Carta as a founding document of the western traditions of liberty and democracy in this the 800th anniversary of its signing and its influence in the creation of the American constitution. The Music begins with a nod to early music (Palestrina) and moves through developments in harmony and rhythm as the ages move forward. There’s musical references to Bach, Chopin, Scriabin and more contemporary influences. ‘The form of each brief movement reveals itself as it unfolds, in the classical manner, with much attention to tone and texture. But at the same time there’s an impetus and looseness to the performance that is pure jazz... A distinguished example of combining jazz with classical music’ ???? Dave Gelly Observer

£15 | £13 conc
Norden Farm Centre for the Arts, Altwood Road, Maidenhead, Berkshire SL6 4PF
Wed 17 Nov 21

Email this Event to a Friend
Your name *
Your email *
Email No.1 *
Email No.2
Email No.3
Email No.4
The email addresses you specify will be used to send the information on your behalf and will not be collected or used by for any purpose.

Back to Event Page