Heritage Open Day: Grade II listed Church of England church. Stained glass windows. Interior elements include fixed pews and galleries with box seating. Other fixtures include a stone font and pulpit, a wooden lectern, and various memorial tablets. St Mary’s Church is a Commissioners’ Church dating from 1839, built on a piece of land donated by Mr John Ashton, a member of a local mill owning family and local employer.
There is an interesting memorial to Mr Ashton in the Nave, and a Narthex created in the old West Porch is named for the Family.
The Commissioners and public subscription funded the church construction jointly. The church is a Grade II English Heritage-listed building and retains many original features.