Heritage Open Day: The buildings known as St Mary's Guildhall have survived over 8 centuries of varied use and many alterations have taken place over this time. The essential components of the original have survived, to preserve a unique example of Norman architecture Preserved excavations reveal that the site was built over the Roman Fosse Way, and constructed around 1170 and King Henry 11 held a 'Crown Wearing Ceremony there and the buildings were also used as a Royal storehouse in which the kings wine was kept, which was sold in 1296 and after 1250 it was given to the Great Guild of St Mary - a powerful body of prominent citizens, merchants and others.