Heritage Open Day: A hidden gem, the Oldest Building in Sheffield - set in a peaceful site, surrounded by parkland. 12th Century Tower and 17th Century Box Pews. The Abbey was founded in the 12th Century and is dedicated to Thomas a Becket of Canterbury. Beauchief belonged to the Premonstratensian Order whose members were Canons. It was dissolved by the Commissioners of Henry VIII in 1536. During the 1670s a small chapel was added to the medieval Tower. Weekly Church of England Services are held to this day in the original chapel.
Visitors can see the original Medieval Tower, the 17th century Chapel with its original box pews and the remains of the old monastery cloisters and fishponds.