Heritage Open Day: Join Dewi the Dragon on a visit to Pulford Church and learn all about the history and architecture of the church, castle and village.
Discover our connection with the Dukes of Westminster, John Douglas and Owain Glyndwr. St Mary's Church Pulford is situated south of Chester on the Welsh border. It is believed that the name of the village is derived from the Welsh words 'Pwll', meaning ' marsh and ' Ffordd', meaning ' crossing. The current church, built between 1881 and 1884, was partly financed by the first Duke of Westminster and designed by the architect John Douglas. The stained glass windows are particularly fine. It stands next to the site of Pulford Castle, of which only a mound remains.