Heritage Open Day: Explore our Grade 11 listed buildings, including the church crypt, which is not normally open to the public but we are opening it for Heritage Open Days. Please note that access is restricted down steps to the crypt. The United Reformed Church in Spalding opened in 1823 as a Congregational Chapel. Around the church are several memorial tablets dating from this period, with many buried in the crypt underneath the church. Two of the burials are of orphans Hannah and Robert Foe, supposedly descendants of Daniel DeFoe, but work is ongoing to try and find evidence of this. Entry to the crypt is down a set of fairly steep steps, so may not be accessible to some. The church is Grade II listed, in a traditional chapel lay-out, with central pulpit, pews and upstairs gallery.