Heritage Open Day: An iconic feature of Berwick is its three bridges over the River Tweed . Find out about their history through the archives and see the artwork created by local people inspired by the Old Bridge as part of the Bridge 400 Project. Annie Lord as part of her Bridge 400 Residency explored the original Old Bridge account books which recorded the names, wages and job titles of everyone involved in the construction of Berwick Bridge. Dating back to 1611, these beautifully scribed books tell a fascinating story, revealing both the material history of the bridge, and the labour involved in its creation. During her residency, Annie developed handmade paint, made from the same sandstone used to repair the bridge .