What's on in Berkshire

May events

Stubbings House - Open Garden for NGS

Details
Parkland garden accessed via adjacent retail nursery. Set around C18 Grade II listed house (not open), home to Queen Wilhelmina of Netherlands in WW2. Large lawn with ha-ha and woodland walks.
Stubbings House, Maidenhead SL6 6QL
Sat 12 Mar, Sun 13 Mar, Sat 7 May, Sun 8 May

The Old Rectory, Farnborough - Open Garden for NGS

Details
In a series of immaculately tended garden rooms, inc herbaceous borders, arboretum, secret garden, roses, vegetables and bog garden, there is an explosion of rare and interesting plants, beautifully
The Old Rectory, Farnborough, nr Wantage OX12 8NX
Sun 24 Apr, Sun 22 May

Shaw House Open Days

Details
Join us for the Shaw House Open Days where you will have the opportunity to access many areas of the House which are not normally open to the public, including the ‘Forbidden Corridor’ on the second
West Berkshire Museum The Wharf Newbury RG14 5AS
Sun 1 May and Mon 2 May

Malverleys - Open Garden for NGS

Details
10 acres of dynamic gardens which have been developed over the last 10 yrs to inc magnificent mixed borders and a series of contrasting yew hedged rooms, hosting flame borders, a cool garden, a pond
Malverleys, Newbury RG20 0AA
Wed 4 May

Sham 69 - The Original Line Up

Details
Sham 69 - The Original Line Up. Artists performing: Sham 69. Tickets avaiable.
Sub 89, Reading RG1 1EP
Fri 6 May

An Evening with Kristin Hersh (US)

Details
An Evening with Kristin Hersh (US). Artists performing: Kristin Hersh. Tickets avaiable.
South Street Arts Centre, Reading RG1 4QU
Fri 13 May

Thurle Grange - Open Garden for NGS

Details
Recently developed 1 acre garden set around attractive country house (c1900, not open) with lovely views across peaceful valley.
Thurle Grange, Reading RG8 9QH
Sat 14 May and Sun 15 May

Wynders - Open Garden for NGS

Details
Magnificent views combined with generous and varied planting across ¾ acre surrounded by open countryside.
Wynders, Reading RG8 9QA
Sat 14 May and Sun 15 May

Newbury District Field Club

Details
Town Walks Jane Burrell, David Peacock and Phil Wood Groups walking in Newbury
West Berkshire Museum, The Wharf, Newbury, Berkshire RG14 7AJ
Wed 18 May

London Calling & The Ramonas

Details
London Calling & The Ramonas. Artists performing: London Calling - A tribute to the Clash, The Ramonas. Tickets avaiable.
Sub 89, Reading RG1 1EP
Fri 20 May

Let's Rock The Moor!

Details
Let's Rock The Moor!. Artists performing: Squeeze, Wet Wet Wet, The Thompson Twins' Tom Bailey , Nick Heyward, Go West, Pig Bag, The Selecter, Jason Donovan, Men Without Hats, Scritti...
Marsh Meadow, Cookham SL6 9SB
Sat 21 May

Rookwood Farm House - Open Garden for NGS

Details
This exciting valley garden, a work in progress, has elements all visitors can enjoy. A rose covered pergola, fabulous tulips, giant alliums, and a recently developed jungle garden with cannas,...
Rookwood Farm House, Newbury RG20 8JX
Sun 22 May

Coach Party

Details
Coach Party. Artists performing: Coach Party. Tickets avaiable.
Face Bar, Reading RG1 7JE
Thu 26 May

Antiques & Brocante Market

Details
A welcome return for the unique French style Brocante market, offering antiques, vintage, retro, bric-a-brac and decorative arts items plus vinyl records on the Great Lawn at Shaw House.
West Berkshire Museum The Wharf Newbury RG14 5AS
Sun 29 May

Things to do in Berkshire