What's On In and Around Shropshire

August events

Shropshire Guild of Contemporary Craft at The Willow Gallery

More...
An exhibition of work for sale by various members of the Shropshire Guild of Contemporary Craft. Jewellery, ceramics, textiles, furniture, glass and much more.
The Willow Gallery, 56 Willow Street, Oswestry SY11 1AE
Today to Sat 20 Aug

Beer and Banter

More...
Beer and Banter The Royal British Legion’s “Beer & Banter” session for retired ex-Service men & women meets here 2 – 4p.m. for a pint & a chin-wag, normally on the first Thursday of each month.
Crown Inn, Market Street, Oakengates, TELFORD, Shropshire TF2 6EA
Thu 7 Jul, Thu 4 Aug, Thu 1 Sep

Sambrook Manor - Open Garden for NGS

More...
Deep, colourful, well-planted borders offset by sweeping lawns surrounding an early C18 manor house (not open).
Sambrook Manor, Sambrook TF10 8AL
Sun 10 Jul, Sun 28 Aug

Delbury Hall Walled Garden - Open Garden for NGS

More...
A two acre early Victorian Walled Garden with large herbaceous borders, vegetable and herb garden, shrubbery, vines and very old fruit trees.
Delbury Hall Walled Garden, Diddlebury SY7 9DH
Thu 14 Jul, Sun 14 Aug

Merton - Open Garden for NGS

More...
Mature ½ acre botanical garden with a rich collection of trees and shrubs inc unusual conifers from around the world.
Merton, Shrewsbury SY3 8BT
Wed 20 Jul, Sun 7 Aug

The Church Stretton Arts Festival

More...
The Church Stretton Arts Festival will run from Saturday 23rd July to Saturday 13th August and the Art Exhibition will be held from Monday 25th July to Saturday 6th August.
Church Stretton (various venues around town) SY6 6DQ
Sat 23 Jul to Sat 13 Aug

Live Music - Open Mic Night

More...
Live Music - Open Mic Night Hosted by Dan Jones & Claire Bennett of The Indigo Machine, another chance to be or to enjoy new talent. Do you want to be a SuperStar or are you just pop-idle?
Crown Inn, Market Street, Oakengates, TELFORD, Shropshire TF2 6EA
Thu 28 Jul, Thu 25 Aug

Fire and Food - Summer Holiday Activity

More...
Experiment with lighting fires with a fire bow and steel! Enjoy popcorn and making bread on a stick and toasted marshmallows. Recommended age 4-11 year olds.
Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre, Craven Arms SY7 9RS
Mon 1 Aug to Fri 5 Aug

Moel y Gwelltyn Ucha - Open Garden for NGS

More...
South facing terraced cottage garden at 900ft on steep hillside in stunning location; fabulous views towards Rodney's Pillar and Long Mountain.
Moel y Gwelltyn Ucha, Oswestry SY10 7QX
Sat 6 Aug and Sun 7 Aug

Iron Age Camp - Summer Holiday Activity

More...
Experience life two thousand years ago. Have flat bread cooked over a fire, paint your face with woad and try out a slingshot. Recommended age 4 – 11 year olds.
Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre, Craven Arms SY7 9RS
Mon 8 Aug to Fri 12 Aug

Moat Hall - Open Garden for NGS

More...
1 acre garden around an old farmhouse within a dry moat which can be walked around. Well organised and extensive kitchen garden, fruit garden and orchard for self-sufficiency.
Moat Hall, Shrewsbury SY5 8AZ
Sat 13 Aug

Scarecrow Festival with Trail & Quiz

More...
Following two very successful Scarecrow events in 2015 and 2019 we are arranging a third Scarecrow week-end full of fun and events for all the family to be held in the villages of Moreton, Outwoods &
Millennium Community Centre Church Lane Moreton Nr Newport TF10 9DS
Sat 13 Aug and Sun 14 Aug

The Ferns - Open Garden for NGS

More...
A formal village garden of ¾ acre, approached via a drive lined with crab apple and pear trees. On the right is the autumn garden, giving fine views of the surrounding hills.
The Ferns, Clun SY7 8JZ
Sun 14 Aug

Purple Prickles and Poisonous Warts - Summer Holiday Activity

More...
Help make homes for the well loved characters in the deep, dark woods and then stroll with the mouse as he meets the animals until finally he meets the one with purple prickles and poisonous warts!
Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre, Craven Arms SY7 9RS
Mon 15 Aug to Fri 19 Aug

Goldstone Hall Gardens - Open Garden for NGS

More...
5 acres with highly productive beautiful kitchen garden. Unusual vegetables and fruits - alpine strawberries; heritage tomatoes, salad, chillies, celeriac.
Goldstone Hall Gardens, Market Drayton TF9 2NA
Wed 17 Aug

Alice in Wonderland

More...
Alice, a young, curious girl, follows a white rabbit down a rabbit hole and ends up in Wonderland! There, she begins on an adventure she will never forget.
The Dorothy Clive Garden Willoughbridge Market Drayton TF9 4EU
Sat 20 Aug

Edge Villa - Open Garden for NGS

More...
Two acres nestling in South Shropshire hills. Self-sufficient vegetable plot. Chickens in orchard, foxes permitting. Large herbaceous borders.
Edge Villa, Shrewsbury SY5 9PY
Sun 21 Aug

Fire and Food - Summer Holiday Activity

More...
Experiment with lighting fires with a fire bow and steel! Enjoy popcorn and making bread on a stick and toasted marshmallows. Recommended age 4-11 year olds.
Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre, Craven Arms SY7 9RS
Mon 22 Aug to Fri 26 Aug

Much Ado About Nothing

More...
Two young lovers, Claudio and Hero are to be married but a malicious scheme threatens their big day. Meanwhile marriage seems inconceivable for the bantering Beatrice and Benedick, Shakespeare’s...
The Dorothy Clive Garden Willoughbridge Market Drayton TF9 4EU
Fri 26 Aug

A Midsummer Night's Dream

More...
British Youth Music Theatre presents: A Midsummer Night’s Dream Holroyd Theatre, Oswestry | 27-28 August 2022 … Are you sure That we are awake? It seems to me That yet we sleep, we dream.
The Holroyd Community Theatre SY10 7SZ
Sat 27 Aug and Sun 28 Aug

Things to do in Shropshire